Kitchen Concoctions: Apricot Crumble Pie!

Last Monday on April 8, my basic pastry class started and the first thing we made for the 6-week course was an Apricot Crumble Pie. It was a pretty delicious pie and it was simple enough to make, whether you already had experience with pastries or if you’re new to the whole thing, learning about them for the first time.  I wasn’t able to take a photo of it, since our pie took forever to bake, and I didn’t have time to take a photo. But nevertheless, we got to make it and taste it too, so it was all good.

We made sugar dough, and we made it manually, which I personally enjoyed doing. We had to cut up and mix the sugar and butter on the table with a dough scraper (it’s this thing, if you guys don’t know how it looks like) and then manually kneaded it. I have always loved kneading dough manually and having to use my hands to fold it and play with it on the table top. It seems therapeutic to me, and I always have such a great time doing it.

After blind baking the sugar dough we made, we filled it up with Almond Cream. Can I just say that I could not stop taking small swipes off the back of the spoon just to eat the cream. It just tasted so delicious, it was the perfect sweetness and almonds have always been my favourite nut, so that was a little piece of heaven for me. We topped the pie with Apricots and sprinkled our own crumble mixture on top and to the oven it went!

Chef gave us a taste of the pie he made and let me just point out how tasty it was. There was a nice balance of flavors, there was sweetness from the cream and a tartness from the apricots. The crust was also crunchy and quite delicious.

That dessert was one for the books, and I can’t wait to make it on my own next time! 🙂
Leave a Reply

